Cynthia MacCrae retired from the University of Montevallo in 2017, where she served on the piano faculty for 24 years. Dr. MacCrae holds the Doctor of Musical Arts Degree in Piano Performance and Literature from the Eastman School of Music, and Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees from the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, where she was a frequent guest on the public television series “The Pianist at Work”. 

Dr. MacCrae has performed extensively as soloist and chamber musician, conducted masterclasses, given lecture presentations, and adjudicated competitions throughout the country.  Her students have won awards in local, state and regional competitions and have been awarded scholarships and assistantships to numerous graduate programs of distinction around the country. She has appeared as soloist with the Alabama Symphony, the Alabama Youth Symphony, the Jackson Symphony Orchestra in Tennessee, the University of Alabama Symphony, and the Red Mountain Chamber Orchestra. During the 2013-14 season, Dr. MacCrae presented the 32 Piano Sonatas of Beethoven in a series of 10 recitals in Montevallo, with a second performance of each program at the Alabama Piano Gallery in Vestavia. 

Leslye Taunton Ames is a pianist/organist who lives in Tallassee, Alabama.  She is an alumna of the University of Montevallo where she received her Bachelor and Master degrees in Piano Pedagogy.  While at Montevallo, she studied piano with Dr. Anthony Pattin and Dr. Cynthia McCrae and organ with Dr. Betty Louise Lumby.  Presently, she serves as Director of Music Ministries at the First United Methodist Church in Tallassee.  Her duties include teaching children's choirs, handbells, designing worship, and playing organ and piano. For over twenty years, Leslye has maintained a piano studio, teaching many students of various stages and ages. She often does freelance accompanying work.  Mrs. Ames is a member of the Alabama Music Teachers Association. Her passion is helping others develop and share their talents.  


Scenes from Childhood, Opus 15 Robert Schumann

From Strange Lands and People (1810-1856)

Curious Story

Catch Me

Pleading Child

Perfect Happiness

Important Event


By the Fireside

Knight of the Rocking Horse

Almost Too Serious


Child Falling Asleep

The Poet Speaks

Hungarian Dances Johannes Brahms

No. 16 in F minor (1833-1897)

No. 13 in D major

No. 6 in D-flat major

Fantasie in F minor, Op. 103, D 940 (1828) Franz Schubert

Allegro molto moderato (1797-1828)


Allegro vivace 

Finale (Tempo I)